Deans and Professors


Derek W. Black, J.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 2002, Ernest F. Hollings Chair in Constitutional Law
Elizabeth Chambliss, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 1992, J.D., University of Wisconsin, 1988, M.S., University of Wisconsin, 1984, Henry Harman Edens Chair
Jaclyn A. Cherry, J.D., Duquesne University School of Law, 1988
Thomas P. Crocker, J.D., Yale University, 2004, Ph.D., Vanderbilt University, 2000, N. Heyward Clarkson, Jr. Professorship
Tessa R. Davis, LL.M., New York University, 2012, J.D. Florida State University, 2011
Joshua G. Eagle, J.D., Georgetown University, 1990, Solomon Blatt Professor of Law
Lisa A. Eichhorn, J.D., Duke University, 1990
Jacqueline R. Fox, LL.M., Georgetown University, 1995, J.D., Georgetown University, 1991
Susan S. Kuo, J.D., Vanderbilt University, 1994, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Class of 1969 Chair for Teaching Excellence
Benjamin Means, J.D., University of Michigan, 1999, John T. Campbell Chair in Business Law and Professional Ethics
Martin C. McWilliams Jr., LL.M., Harvard University, 1976, J.D., University of Mississippi, 1975
S. Alan Medlin, J.D., University of South Carolina, 1979, David W. Robinson Professor of Law
Colin Miller, J.D., College of William and Mary, 2003,  Thomas H. Pope Professorship in Trial Advocacy
Clare S. Raj, J.D., Case Western Reserve University, 2003
Joel H. Samuels, J.D., University of Michigan, 1999
Joseph A. Seiner, J.D., Washington and Lee University, 1998, Oliver Ellsworth Professor of Federal Practice
Ned Snow, J.D., Harvard University, 2003, Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Scholarship, Ray Taylor Fair Professor of Law
Seth W. Stoughton, J.D., University of Virginia, 2011
Marcia Y. Zug, J.D., Yale University, 2004, Miles and Ann Loadholt Chair 

Associate Professors

Marie C. Boyd, J.D., Yale University, 2007
Josie F. Brown, J.D., Harvard Law School, 1985
Jesse M. Cross, J.D., Yale Law School, 2011, M.A. University of California, Irvine, 2007
Ann M. Eisenberg, LL.M., West Virginia University College of Law, 2016, J.D., Cornell University, 2012
David K. Linnan, J.D., University of Chicago, 1979
Lisa Martin, J.D., Georgetown University Law Center, 2003
Aparna Polavarapu, M.A.L.D., Tufts University, 2010, J.D., Georgetown University, 2005
Bryant Walker Smith, LL.M., New York University, 2009, J.D., New York University, 2008
Emily F. Suski, LL.M., Georgetown University, 2006, J.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 2001
Clinton G. Wallace, LL.M., New York University School of Law, 2015, J.D., New York University School of Law, 2012
Etienne Toussaint, LL.M., The George Washington University Law School, 2019, J.D., Harvard Law School, 2012, M.S.E, The Johns Hopkins University, 2009

Assistant Professors

Laura Lane-Steele, J.D., Harvard University, 2016
Emily R. Winston, J.D., University of Chicago, 2010
Madalyn Wasilczuk, J.D., New York University School of Law

Legal Writing Instructors

Janice M. Baker, J.D., University of South Carolina, 1994, Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Shelby K. Leonardi, J.D., University of Notre Dame, 2002
Ami Leventis, J.D., University of Virginia, 2001
Amy L. Milligan, J.D., University of South Carolina, 2002
McKenzie Osborne, J.D., New York University School of Law, 2013
Michael J. Virzi, J.D., University of South Carolina, 2000


Daniel A. Brackmann, M.S.L.I.S, University of Illinois, 2014, J.D. University of Cincinnati, 1999
Aaron J. Glenn, M.L.I.S., University of South Carolina, 2015, J.D., University of South Carolina, 2013
Rebekah K. Maxwell, M.L.I.S., University of South Carolina, 1995, J.D., Mercer University, 1994
Eve Ross, M.L.I.S., University of South Carolina, 2014, J.D., University of South Carolina, 2007
Candle M. Wester, M.L.I.S., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2006, J.D., University of Nebraska, 2004

Professors Emeriti

Gregory B. Adams, J.S.D., Columbia University, 1986, LL.M., Columbia University, 1979, J.D., Louisiana State University, 1973
Robert T. Bockman, J.D., University of Georgia, 1975, M.A., University of Georgia, 1972
F. Ladson Boyle, LL.M., New York University, 1975, J.D., University of South Carolina, 1974, Charles E. Simons Jr. Professor of Federal Law
R. Randall Bridwell, LL.M., Harvard University, 1971, J.D., Southern Methodist University, 1970
W. Lewis Burke, J.D., University of South Carolina, 1975
James R. Burkhard, J.D., Ohio State University, 1968
Katharine I. Butler, J.D., University of Tennessee, 1974
Nathan M. Crystal, LL.M., Harvard University, 1976, J.D., Emory University, 1971, Class of 1969 Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Professional Responsibility & Contract Law
Richard E. Day, J.D., University of Michigan, 1957
James F. Flanagan, LL.B., University of Pennsylvania, 1967, Oliver Ellsworth Professor of Federal Practice
Patrick J. Flynn, J.D., Indiana University, 1974
Kenneth W. Gaines, LL.M., Emory University, 1990, J.D., University of Kansas, 1976
Thomas R. Haggard, LL.B., University of Texas, 1967
F. Patrick Hubbard, LL.M., Yale University, 1973, Ronald L. Motley Distinguished Professor of Tort Law
Herbert A. Johnson, Ph.D., Columbia University, 1965, LL.B., New York Law School, 1960
Philip T. Lacy, LL.B., University of Virginia, 1972
Henry S. Mather, J.D., Cornell University, 1970
Ralph C. McCullough, II, J.D., Tulane University, 1965
John E. Montgomery, LL.M., University of Michigan, 1971, J.D., University of Louisville, 1969, Director, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough Center on Professionalism
Dennis R. Nolan, J.D., Harvard University, 1970, Webster Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Labor Law
David G. Owen, J.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1971, Carolina Distinguished Professor of Law
Elizabeth G. Patterson, J.D., University of Arizona, 1976
Burnele V. Powell, LL.M., Harvard University, 1979, Miles and Ann Loadholt Professor of Law
Walter F. Pratt Jr., J.D., Yale University, 1977,James P. Mozingo III Professor Emeritus of Legal Research, Educational Foundation Distinguished Professor of Law
O’Neal Smalls, LL.M., Georgetown University, 1975, J.D., Harvard University, 1967
Stephan A. Spitz, J.D., University of Nebraska, 1974
Roy T. Stuckey, J.D., University of South Carolina, 1973, Webster Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Clinical Legal Education
Jon P. Thames, LL.M., Harvard University, 1971, J.D., University of Mississippi, 1965
Eldon D. Wedlock, Jr., LL.M., Yale University, 1969, J.D., American University, 1968
Robert M. Wilcox, J.D., University of South Carolina, 1981